#### **MINUTES**

#### **TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE**

#### Wednesday, November 19, 2014

NC Research Campus
UNC Building
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, North Carolina 28081

Members:		Others:	
Joe Wilson	City of Concord	Phil Conrad	<b>CRMPO</b> Director
Justin Price	Town of Granite Quarry	Susan Closner	Granite Quarry
Wilmer Melton	City of Kannapolis	Connie Cunningham CRMPO Staff	
Jonathan Marshall	Cabarrus County	Loretta Barren	FHWA
Wendy Brindle	City of Salisbury	Warren Cooksey	NCDOT-Div 10
Diane Hampton	NCDOT-Div. 9	Stuart Basham	NCDOT-Div 9
Linda Dosse	NCDOT-TPB	LJ Weslowski	RIDER
David Pugh	Town of Midland	Phillip Graham	Concord
F.E. Isenhour	Town of East Spencer	Amy Schueneman	Mt. Pleasant
Ed Muire	Rowan County,	Susie Morris	Cabarrus County
	Town of Cleveland, Town of Spencer		

Town of Cleveland, Town of Spencer

### Call to Order

TCC Chairman Ed Muire called the November 19, 2014 meeting of the Cabarrus Rowan MPO TCC to order and welcomed everyone to the meeting. His first order of business was to call the roll of eligible TCC members. Once he determined a quorum had been met, Chairman Muire asked that guests please be introduced. Mr. Phillip Graham, TCC alternate from the City of Concord, Mr. Justin Price, newly appointed TCC Representative from the Town of Granite Quarry and Ms. Amy Schueneman with the Town of Mt. Pleasant were introduced as guests.

Chairman Muire continued by asking if there were any additions or corrections to the agenda. With none heard, he asked if there were any speakers from the floor. With no one coming forward, Chairman Muire moved on to the next item of business.

# **Approval of Minutes**

Chairman Muire called member's attention to the minutes of the August 20, 2014 TCC meeting which were included in their meeting packets. He asked members for any comments or corrections to those minutes. With no comments or corrections being heard, Mr. Wilmer Melton made a motion to accept the minutes as presented. Mr. David Pugh seconded the motion and TCC members followed with a unanimous vote to approve.

### TIP Priority Projects STI Final Point Assignment

CR MPO Director Phil Conrad reported to members that NCDOT has applied their methodology to rank all modes of transportation projects across North Carolina. This methodology Phil explained, includes a quantitative component that was just recently released. NCDOT has now incorporated the quantitative scores with the CR MPO (local input) scores and the Division Engineers ranking (points) and released the final scores for projects.

Phil called TCC members' attention to Attachment #3 in their packets which was a detailed list of Division 9 and Division 10 Highway STI Priority projects for the Cabarrus Rowan MPO. Phil reviewed the spreadsheet with members by providing a powerpoint presentation which included the local, division, and state assignment of points as well as Statewide, Regional, and Division project quantitative ranks.

After review of the projects Phil explained that the release of the *Draft* FY 2016-2025 TIP would likely occur about December 1, 2014. Phil also reported that not all CR MPO projects were contained on this spreadsheet, just the ones that scored the highest.

#### Old Beatty Ford Road Functional Classification

Phil Conrad reported to the TCC members that NCDOT has recently updated the Functional Classification system for the Cabarrus and Rowan County areas and then submitted those updates to the Federal Highway Administration for review. Since that review, it has been determined by NCDOT Staff that the Old Beatty Ford Road needs to be reclassified from a minor collector to a major collector roadway.

He called members attention to a letter included in their packets to Ms. Terry Arellano, NCDOT TPB from TAC Chairman Withers explaining the request for some additional corrections to the Functional Classification System. Ms. Linda Dosse from NCDOT TPB called members' attention to a map included in their packets which detailed the Functional Classification changes and she reviewed the map with members.

With little discussion, Mr. F.E. Isenhour made a motion to recommend that the CRMPO TAC consider requesting Old Beatty Ford Road be reclassified to a major collector under the Functional Classification System. Mr. Wilmer Melton seconded the motion and TCC members voted unanimously to approve.

# **Reports/CRMPO Business**

- ✓ Local Reports MPO/TPB/NCDOT Division 9 & 10 Diane Hampton from NCDOT Division 9 provided TCC members with a spreadsheet of updates on the Rowan County projects and reviewed for the members. Mr. Stuart Basham from Division 10 called TCC members' attention to a spreadsheet included in their packets with updates on Division 10 Projects. Information from Concord Regional Airport was also provided to TCC members.
- ✓ CTP Update Ms. Linda Dosse, NCDOT TPB reported to TCC members on the status of the updating of the CTP which is currently underway. She reported that two meetings

have been held with the TCC subcommittee to work on the update. They are currently working to identify the tasks needing updates. Ms. Dosse also reported that a review of the 2011 Plan is being done on all modes of transportation as well.

- ✓ North Carolina Strategic Corridors and 25-Year Plan Mr. Warren Cooksey from NCDOT Division 10 provided members with a presentation on the Governor's newly announced 25-Year Plan. Mr. Cooksey provided members with a power point presentation that explained in detail the Governor's vision for North Carolina's transportation system. He also provided members with a copy of Gov. McCrory's 25 Year Vision for North Carolina, Mapping Our Future.
- ✓ Ramp Meter Study Update Mr. Stuart Basham, NCDOT Division 10 reported to members that municipal agreements are in the process of being prepared and that Mr. Scott Cole, NCDOT Division is handling those agreements.

# **Informational Items**

- ➤ Concord Express, Salisbury Transit, Rowan Express, Cabarrus Links and RIDER Transit Ridership Information Phil called the TCC members' attention to the ridership information included in their packets.
- Next scheduled meeting is January 21, 2015.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

With no other business to be considered, Chairman Muire adjourned the meeting.